Ravensbourne awards

The Ravensbourne Awards Show.
Publication date:

Last night over 1,000 industry professionals and guests gathered for The Ravensbourne Degree Show Awards — a celebration of our students’ most impressive projects across the three day exhibition.

The Ravensbourne Degree Show provides an exclusive opportunity to check out the exceptional work of our graduating students, as they take their first steps in the industries they will go on to shape. This year’s show explored the theme of connection, with visitors invited to view an array of projects across the nine floor building, from innovative architectural plans to cutting-edge fashion; from thought-provoking short films to striking graphic design.

Following a successful launch day, attendees gathered for The Ravensbourne Degree Show Awards to acknowledge the very best of the students’ creative innovations. Ravensbourne alumni and founders of the award-winning Haus Pictures, Harri Kamalanathan and Ian Simpson, returned to present an array of awards to current students.

Award-winners included Joshua Welch, a BA (Hons) Interior Environment Design Architectures student who was recognised for his ‘China Exchange’ project proposing a new cultural building in Chinatown taking influence from tea house culture. Cesca Davey, Jacob Morris and Elliott Ramdass were awarded the Media Works Award for their broadcast of a major stock car racing event at the Adrian Flux Arena in King’s Lynn. Brenda Kuoh received the Advocate Award for her fashion collection which uses recycled ropes and cable ties in the aim of increasing awareness about sustainable fashion.

Awards were sponsored by companies including Boden, LaCie and Engie, who offered prizes ranging from internship placements to computing equipment. Benjamin Gibbs, Harry Guttridge, Tyler Whittick and Lemuel Unaji who won the Incubation Lite Award, received a place on Ravensbourne’s Incubation programme, where their business ideas will have access to specialist business support and facilities.

Tamika Sampson, The Ravensbourne Degree Show Producer said, “It was amazing to see the team come together over the three days — all that hard work and dedication come together. The shows have been fantastic and our guests even better! I’m beyond thankful to all my teams, they deserve as much credit as I do as without them I wouldn’t have been able to do this. Working on The Ravensbourne Degree Show has been a huge opportunity for me and a great way to learn about what goes into the production of a large scale event.”

Andy Cook, Acting Vice-Chancellor added, “Congratulations to all of our graduating students. They have worked incredibly hard to present their work at this year’s exhibition and we would like to thank them for the dedication and creativity that has made this year’s show such a resounding success. All our award-winners and nominees should be especially proud of their achievements.”

You can find the full list of winners from The Ravensbourne Awards 2019:

Department of Architecture Award

Winner: Joshua Welch

Department of Fashion Award (sponsored by Boden)

Winner: Megan Wise

Department of Design Practice Award (sponsored by Envy Advertising)

Winners: Tayo Onabule, Charlie-George Baker and Michael Bailey

Media Lab Award (sponsored by The Farm Group)

Winner: Fabio Sbordone

Media Works Award (sponsored by LaCie)

Winners: Cesca Davey, Jacob Morris and Elliott Ramdass

Incubation Lite Award (sponsored by Incubation)

Winner: Benjamin Gibbs, Harry Guttridge, Tyler Whittick and Lemuel Unaji

Advocate Award (sponsored by Engie)

Winner: Brenda Kuoh

Dissertation Award (sponsored by Virginie Selavy and Shaquilla Alexander)

Winner: Andre Jacques

HE/Access Award (sponsored by Hob Studio)

Winner: India Morgan

Collaboration Award (sponsored by Student Union)

Winner: Will Carne